Welcome to the website of the research project ‘’.

Naturalization promotes integration

In the Swiss debate about integration, opinions are divided about when foreign nationals should receive Swiss citizenship. Some people believe that immigrants should be naturalized as soon as possible to promote integration. Others think that naturalization should happen after many years to mark the successful integration of immigrants. In a study funded by the Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF), researchers at the universities of Zurich, Stanford and the London School of Economics have been able to show that the naturalization of immigrants is a catalyst for integration. It is particularly beneficial for foreigners who are part of a marginalized immigrant group at the time of naturalization. In this study, the people who benefited most were from Turkey and former Yugoslavia.

The researchers analyzed data from a controversial naturalization process which is no longer permitted today: the secret ballot on individual applications for naturalization in 46 local councils in German-speaking Switzerland between 1970 and 2003. On the basis of this quantitative database comprising 2225 applications overall, the researchers identified 768 people whose applications were either narrowly accepted or rejected. There are no significant differences between the two groups regarding their age, sex, language skills, number of years in Switzerland or country of origin. “In some cases, the difference between them was merely a few votes, which turned 49% into 51%. It was down to luck whether people received Swiss citizenship or not,” says Professor Jens Hainmueller of Stanford University.

The researchers interviewed people whose applications were narrowly accepted or rejected by telephone. They asked questions such as: are you involved in politics? Do you read Swiss newspapers? Are you a member in a club or association? Do you feel discriminated against? Do you plan to spend your retirement in Switzerland?

The results show that migrants who became Swiss citizens by a narrow margin more than 15 years ago are much more integrated than migrants whose applications were narrowly rejected. The largest difference was found in the migrant groups faced with the most prejudices: “Our analysis shows that people from former Yugoslavia and Turkey as well as people not born in Switzerland benefited most from naturalization,” says Giuseppe Pietrantuono of the University of Zurich.

The effects of naturalisation are just as pronounced with regard to political integration: the political knowledge of people who were only narrowly naturalized rises to the level of people who were born Swiss. Migrants whose applications were narrowly rejected remain politically marginalized to this day.

“Our study shows that naturalization promotes social and political integration in the long term. The earlier a person receives citizenship, the greater the positive effect,” says Dominik Hangartner, political scientist at the University of Zurich and the London School of Economics. This should be a wake-up call for Switzerland, he adds: “Migrants have to wait twelve years for naturalization, a long time compared to other European countries. Our study shows that a reduction of this waiting period would promote integration, and this would have a positive impact on society as a whole.”

Click on the video above for a short documentary about the project. Further information can be found here. The published reports and working papers are available for download in the upper-right panel.

Start

Herzlich willkommen auf der Homepage für das Forschungsprojekt ‚citizenship.ch’.

Einbürgerung beschleunigt Integration 

In der Schweizer Integrationsdebatte wird kontrovers diskutiert, wann Ausländerinnen und Ausländer den Schweizer Pass erhalten sollen. Die Einen wollen Immigranten nach möglichst kurzer Zeit einbürgern, um die Integration zu fördern. Die Anderen sehen in der Einbürgerung, die erst nach vielen Jahren erfolgen soll, den Abschluss erfolgreicher Integration. Eine vom Schweizerischen Nationalfonds (SNF) unterstützte Studie der Universitäten Zürich, Stanford und der London School of Economics liefert nun Hinweise, dass die Einbürgerung von Immigranten wie ein Katalysator für die Integration wirkt. Vom Erwerb des Schweizer Passes profitieren insbesondere die Migrantinnen und Migranten, die zum Zeitpunkt ihrer Einbürgerung zu marginalisierten Migrantengruppen gehören. In der Studie sind dies Personen aus der Türkei und aus Ex-Jugoslawien.

Die Forschenden haben sich für ihre Untersuchung eine umstrittene Einbürgerungspraxis zu Nutzen gemacht, die heute in dieser Form unzulässig ist: Die anonyme Urnen-Abstimmung über Einbürgerungsgesuche in 46 Deutschschweizer Gemeinden zwischen 1970 und 2003. Anhand dieser quantitativen Datenbasis von insgesamt 2225 Einbürgerungsgesuchen konnten sie 768 Personen ausfindig machen, deren Einbürgerungsgesuche entweder knapp angenommen oder abgelehnt worden waren. Zwischen den knapp abgelehnten Gesuchstellern und den knapp Eingebürgerten gibt es keine Unterschiede bezüglich ihres Alters, Geschlechts, ihrer Sprachkenntnisse, ihrer Aufenthaltsdauer in der Schweiz oder ihrer Herkunft. „Für Migranten, die nur ein paar Ja-Stimmen auseinander liegen, zum Beispiel 49 Prozent im Gegensatz zu 51 Prozent, war es letztlich reine Glückssache, ob sie die Schweizer Staatsbürgerschaft erhielten oder nicht“, sagt Professor Jens Hainmueller, der an der Universität Stanford tätig ist.

Die Forschenden befragten die knapp eingebürgerten oder nicht eingebürgerten Personen telefonisch. Sie fragten unter Anderem, ob sie sich politisch engagieren, ob sie Schweizer Zeitungen lesen, in einem Verein Mitglied sind, ob sie sich diskriminiert fühlen oder planen, ihren Lebensabend in der Schweiz zu verbringen.

Das Ergebnis ist, dass Migranten, welche die Schweizer Staatsbürgerschaft vor mehr als 15 Jahren in der Urnenabstimmung knapp erhielten, heute sozial viel besser integriert sind als Migranten, die die Abstimmung damals knapp verloren haben. Der Einbürgerungseffekt ist für die Migrantengruppen am Grössten, die mit den stärksten Vorurteilen zu kämpfen haben: „In unserer Untersuchung profitieren Personen aus Ex-Jugoslawien und der Türkei sowie nicht in der Schweiz Geborene am meisten von der Einbürgerung“, sagt Giuseppe Pietrantuono von der Universität Zürich.

Ebenso deutlich ist der Effekt der Einbürgerung bei der politischen Integration: Das politische Wissen steigt bei den knapp eingebürgerten Personen auf ein Niveau an, das mit gebürtigen Schweizerinnen und Schweizern vergleichbar ist. Knapp Abgelehnte sind hingegen auch heute noch politisch marginalisiert.

„Unsere Studie zeigt, dass die Einbürgerung die soziale und politische Integration langfristig fördert. Zudem sind positiven Effekte der Einbürgerung umso grösser, je früher sich eine Person einbürgern lässt“, sagt Dominik Hangartner, Politikwissenschaftler an der Universität Zürich und an der London School of Economics. Für die Schweiz sei dies ein wichtiges Resultat: „Mit zwölf Jahren Aufenthaltsdauer geht es in der Schweiz im europäischen Vergleich lange, bis sich ein Immigrant einbürgern lassen kann. Unsere Studie zeigt, dass sich eine gewisse Reduktion positiv auf die Integration und damit für die gesamte Bevölkerung auswirken könnte“, sagt Hangartner.

Ausführlichere Informationen zum Projekt erhalten Sie oben im Video und hier. Zudem stehen rechts die Forschungsbeiträge zum Herunterladen bereit.